From Homestar Runner Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
This is the talk page of an article that has been redirected to Minor Drinks. Please do not participate in the discussions archived here. If you can provide a reason for the existence of this page that hasn't been discussed below, you may start a new section. Please refer to the inclusion guidelines that are generally applied to judge an article's merit.

[edit] Coincidence

The Marshie thing is nought but coincidence - and I don't believe any other disambiguation on this Wiki has a coincidence. So with only one legit reference, I say delete. RickTommy (edits) 00:41, 27 August 2019 (UTC)

Despite being someone who keeps kosher and would love if this were a real page, I kind of have to agree with deletion, or at least just a straight redirect to the tea. — Defender1031*Talk 09:10, 27 August 2019 (UTC)
I have nothing relevant to add regarding page-worthiness. But I would like to state that Marzipan is vegan, and there's nothing in Strong Bad's fridge except meat, milk, milky meat, and meaty milk. Not to mention the pork, the ham, the bacon and the prawns. Tea and Israeli marshmallows are probably the only Kosher things around here. -- 01:38, 28 August 2019 (UTC)
I am honestly shocked to see that I'm the only one on my side of the argument here. Not a shred of support. So here's I'll explain my position and respond to the arguments posted here:
  • First off, the one thing that didn't surprise me: why the rush to delete page? The topic is useful and important, and if there had been only a single instance of the topic, a redirect would've sufficed, and that's what I would've created! So why not be open to other alternatives such as... redirect to tea?
  • Regarding the non-kosher examples: you don't have to be Jewish or even adhere to strict kosher standards to eat kosher items! If it's a yummy marshmallow that's popular and/or TBC like it, who's to say that it wasn't lampooned in the toons because of that? In that case they just happen to have Kosher in its name.
  • Now to the most important issue (I believe): Are the Elyon kosher marshmallows a valid reference? This reference has been in the page for years! It was added here in 2004 and "immortalized" by Dr. Haggis right after that. It has remained unchallenged until now. So the question is: are these marshmallows that are or were available in Georgia for TBC to consume and subsequently made fun of? So then, if this is a valid reference then there is no reason for the disambiguation not to stand, but if it's not then the reference has to be removed appropriately and then it makes sense to convert the disambig into a redirect.
That is my reasoning for making this disambiguation that seems so hotly debated. --Stux 02:36, 28 August 2019 (UTC)
I don’t mind leaving the page like it is now. - 16:04, 29 August 2019 (UTC)
In my opinion, the marshmallow thing seems like it could be a valid reference, so it can be kept on the Marshie page. But I also think it's a huge stretch for this disambiguation, so it can be removed from this page. No one would search "Kosher" in an attempt to find Marshie, as they're only tangentially related. And with Marshie removed, that leaves only one kosher-related thing here, so it should be redirected to the tea. Gfdgsgxgzgdrc 04:08, 30 August 2019 (UTC)
I would disagree. I thought long and hard (for all of 2 seconds) as to what kind of page to make and the best solution I could come up with was the disambiguation. When you search for "kosher" in the wiki, these are the only 2 main page hits that you get. That marshie resembles a kosher marshmallow is an unusual thing. And somebody typing the word kosher (and looking for information on that topic) would find it interesting that there is a relationship between Marshie and the word kosher. That leads us back to the validity of the kosher marshmallow with Marshie, which is something that should be discussed in that page. --Stux 18:51, 30 August 2019 (UTC)
I agree with deletion (or the aforementioned redirect to the tea):
  • There is no indication that Marshie, or Fluffy Puff Marshmallows, are kosher. He (or Fluffy Puff Marshmallows) are never described as such, and there's similarly no hints that his character is meant to be Jewish. I agree with gfd that it's absurd to think someone would type "kosher" in an attempt to find more information about Marshie.
  • Are the Elyon marshmallows worth mentioning on the Marshie page? Sure, it's potentially interesting trivia. But it is just that, trivial, putting it on its own page like this gives the connection undue weight — there's no proof that TBC were inspired by it, this brand has not been mentioned in a commentary, interview, or public appearance, is not particularly common or readily available, and (as far as I know) TBC do not keep kosher. In fact, the name Fluffy Puff Air-Puffed Sugar Delights makes me think their preferred brand of marshmallows is Jet-Puffed Marshmallows. Sure there's a chance that they saw a bag of Elyon marshalades in 2001 but it's nowhere near beyond a reasonable doubt. Again, Marshie's face looks just as much like the Hardee's logo — and Hardee's has over 100 locations in Atlanta — but I wouldn't make "Hardee's" redirect or disambiguate to the Marshie page.
  • The term "kosher" does not appear prominently on the Elyon packaging, just the small OU symbol.
  • "Somebody looking for information on [kosher]" would probably not do so on a knowledge base for a largely agnostic cartoon. HRWiki is not Wikipedia, and the limited search results do a better job of showcasing "that topic doesn't really come up here". -- Bleu Ninja 21:33, 31 March 2023 (UTC)
Personal tools